Brand Suitability vs. Brand Safety

Not a topic for scaredy-cats.
But for smart planners.

Targeted, individualized, and automatically booked and served advertising on the Internet (read more in our blog post Programmatic Advertising) is an unbroken and certainly unstoppable trend. In professionally organized online campaigns, there is no way around publishing content automatically in order to reach predefined target groups as precisely as possible and in the appropriate advertising environment. Given the vast number of different channels (media, blogs, vlogs, clips, and social media areas), it is impossible to assign them manually – which is why algorithms take over this task.

Keywords and contents
We are all familiar with this situation from our daily media work: Next to a report about a plane crash, there is advertising for particularly cheap air travel. Or a blog post about domestic violence is financed with advertising for the latest first-person shooter. Whoops … how could this happen? Quite simply, the keywords in the respective text (= advertising environment) triggered the booking for a product with the exact keywords. But the algorithm did not realize that the combination of the exact keywords can display different content! A clear case for “brand safety”!

Block, block, and block again
Media planners rely on “brand safety” to ensure that this does not happen (the brand’s presentation in an inappropriate environment). Exclusion lists are ideal for defining framework conditions in whose background online advertising should NOT be placed. In principle, such exclusions are intended to protect companies from illegal content in the advertising environment – of course, individually selected keywords can also be included in these exclusion criteria. Trendy are keywords such as “dead,” “die,” “accident,” and the like in all grammatical forms.

Targeted, individualized, and automatically booked and placed advertising on the Internet is an unbroken and certainly unstoppable trend.

How about brand suitability instead?
The brand “Suitability” can be translated very broadly as “suitability,” “fitness,” or “usefulness.” Therefore, it describes a selective approach that does not rely on the pure blocking and exclusion of terms and topics but includes the context, i.e., the context of the content, in the planning. At first glance, this approach may seem more time-consuming. It also brings significantly better results and creates noticeably better conversion rates by addressing the target group with high precision!

“Dead” is not the same as “dead.”
A simple example of this: The keyword “dead” can have different meanings in terms of content. The passengers from the crashed plane are indeed “dead.” But the latest movie could be “die laughing.” So excluding keywords (via exclusion lists) is not enough. It also needs proactively and positively created inclusion lists, specifically keywords (and thus advertising environments), in the planning. It goes without saying that this process must be continuously adapted and updated – after all, the respective advertising environment is also evolving. In this way, brand safety is transformed into much brighter brand suitability.

Everything can be optimized!
At DeSight Studio, we value innovative solutions – they ensure significantly higher efficiency and thus more successfully implemented online campaigns. Instead of offering “off-the-shelf” concepts, we always focus on customized solutions that deserve this designation. Brand suitability is an important module that allows you to set up your online communication in a truly individual way and to use channels (exclusively) that other market participants do not even use due to very general exclusion lists. Or to put it another way: We like to take a closer look at a potential advertising environment!

DeSight Studio GmbH | Wolfgang Zdimal

Journalist and professional copywriter Wolfgang Zdimal wrote this article on behalf of DeSight Studio GmbH and published by DeSight Studio GmbH. Wolfgang Zdimal, who manages his business from Vienna, Austria, has more than 20 years of professional experience and writes for the Austrian Federal Economic Chamber, BAWAG P.S.K. Bank or just for DeSight Studio GmbH.

Data protection
We, the DeSight Studio GmbH (Registered business address: Germany), would like to process personal information with external services. This is not necessary for the use of the website, but allows us to interact even more closely with them. If desired, please make a choice:
Data protection
We, the DeSight Studio GmbH (Registered business address: Germany), would like to process personal information with external services. This is not necessary for the use of the website, but allows us to interact even more closely with them. If desired, please make a choice:

Brand Suitability vs. Brand Safety

Kein Thema für Angsthasen.
Sondern für smarte Planer.

Zielgerichtete, individualisierte und automatisch gebuchte und geschaltete Werbung im Internet (nachzulesen in unserem Blogbeitrag Programmatic Advertising) ist ein ungebrochener und sicher auch unaufhaltsamer Trend. Bei professionell organisierten Online-Kampagnen führt kein Weg daran vorbei, den Content automatisiert zu publizieren, um auf diese Weise die vorab definierten Zielgruppen möglichst punktgenau und im passenden Werbeumfeld zu erreichen. Bei der unüberschaubaren Fülle an verschiedenen Kanälen (Medien, Blogs, Vlogs, Clips und Social-Media-Bereichen) ist die Zuordnung per Hand gar nicht machbar – deshalb übernehmen Algorithmen diese Aufgabe.

Stichworte und Inhalte
Wir alle kennen diese Situation aus unserer täglichen Medienarbeit: Neben einem Bericht über einen Flugzeugabsturz findet sich Werbung für besonders günstige Flugreisen. Oder ein Blogbeitrag über häusliche Gewalt wird mit Werbung für den neuesten Ego-Shooter finanziert. Hoppla … wie konnte das passieren? Ganz einfach, die Keywords im jeweiligen Text (= Werbeumfeld) haben die Buchung für ein Produkt mit denselben Keywords ausgelöst. Dass die Kombination der gleichen Keywords aber unterschiedliche Inhalte anzeigen kann, ist dem Algorithmus nicht klar! Ein klarer Fall für „Brand Safety“!

Blocken, blocken und nochmals blocken
Damit genau das (die Präsentation der Marke in einem unpassenden Umfeld) nicht passiert, setzen Mediaplaner auf „Brand Safety“. Exclusion-Listen eignen sich hervorragend dazu, Rahmenbedingungen zu definieren, in deren Umfeld die Online-Werbung NICHT geschalten werden soll. Prinzipiell sind solche Ausschlüsse dafür gedacht, Unternehmen vor illegalen Inhalten im Werbeumfeld zu schützen – selbstverständlich lassen sich auch individuell ausgewählte Keywords in diese Ausschlusskriterien mit aufnehmen. Sehr beliebt sind dabei Keywords wie „tot“, „sterben“, „verunglücken“ und dergleichen in allen grammatikalischen Ausprägungen.

Zielgerichtete, individualisierte und automatisch gebuchte und geschaltete Werbung im Internet ist ein ungebrochener und sicher auch unaufhaltsamer Trend.

Wie wär’s stattdessen mit Brand Suitability?
Das Brand „Suitability“ lässt sich sehr breit mit „Eignung“, „Tauglichkeit“ oder „Brauchbarkeit“ übersetzen. Es beschreibt also einen selektiven Weg, der nicht auf das Reine Blockieren und Ausschließen von Begrifflichkeiten und Themen setzt, sondern vielmehr den Kontext, also den inhaltlichen Zusammenhang in die Planung mit einbezieht. Dieser Zugang mag auf den ersten Blick aufwändiger erscheinen, er bringt aber auch deutlich bessere Resultate und schafft über eine hochpräzise Ansprache der Zielgruppe spürbar bessere Conversion Rates!

„Tot“ ist nicht gleich „tot“.
Ein einfaches Beispiel dazu: Das Keyword „tot“ kann inhaltlich verschiedene Bedeutungen haben. Die Passagiere aus dem abgestürzten Flugzeug sind tatsächlich „tot“. Aber der neueste Kinofilm könnte z.B. zum „totlachen“ sein. Mit dem Ausschließen von Keywords (über Exclusion-Listen) ist es also nicht getan. Es braucht auch proaktiv und positiv erstellte Inclusion-Listen, die ganz gezielt Keywords (und damit Werbeumfelder) in die Planung mit aufnehmen. Es versteht sich von selbst, dass dieser Prozess laufend angepasst und aktualisiert werden muss – immerhin entwickelt sich auch das jeweilige Werbeumfeld weiter. Auf diese Weise wird aus abschottender Brand Safety die deutlich smartere Brand Suitability.

Alles lässt sich optimieren!
Wir bei DeSight Studio schätzen smarte Lösungen – sie sorgen für deutlich höhere Effizienz und damit auch erfolgreicher umgesetzte Online-Kampagnen. Anstatt Konzepte „von der Stange“ anzubieten, setzen wir stets auf maßgeschneiderte Lösungen, die diese Bezeichnung auch verdienen. Brand Suitability ist ein wichtiges Modul, Ihre Online-Kommunikation wirklich individuell aufzustellen und Kanäle (exklusiv) zu nutzen, die andere Marktteilnehmer durch sehr allgemein gehaltene Exclusion-Listen erst gar nicht bespielen. Oder anders gesagt: Wir schauen und ein potenzielles Werbeumfeld gerne genauer an!

DeSight Studio GmbH  |  Wolfgang Zdimal

Dieser Beitrag wurde vom Journalisten und Berufstexter Wolfgang Zdimal im Auftrag der DeSight Studio GmbH verfasst und durch die DeSight Studio GmbH veröffentlicht. Wolfgang Zdimal, welcher seine Geschäfte von Wien, Österreich aus steuert, weist mehr als 20 Jahre Berufserfahrung auf und schreibt unteranderem für die Wirtschaftskammer Österreich, die BAWAG P.S.K. Bank oder eben für die DeSight Studio GmbH.

Datenschutz
Wir, DeSight Studio GmbH (Firmensitz: Deutschland), würden gerne mit externen Diensten personenbezogene Daten verarbeiten. Dies ist für die Nutzung der Website nicht notwendig, ermöglicht uns aber eine noch engere Interaktion mit Ihnen. Falls gewünscht, treffen Sie bitte eine Auswahl:
Wir, DeSight Studio GmbH (Firmensitz: Deutschland), würden gerne mit externen Diensten personenbezogene Daten verarbeiten. Dies ist für die Nutzung der Website nicht notwendig, ermöglicht uns aber eine noch engere Interaktion mit Ihnen. Falls gewünscht, treffen Sie bitte eine Auswahl: