Make
eCommerce
Online Marketing
Mobile Apps
Awesome!
Copyright © 2015 - 2019 | DeSight Studio® GmbH
 

Corporate Design

Style Guides.
Keyword: Recognition.

The development of corporate design is one of the most exciting challenges. It is all about casting everything a company stands for in form, color, and words and communicating it in a highly concentrated form. At the same time, this creative construct must also be made transparent and comprehensible for other users (external graphic designers, web designers, agencies, editorial offices, printers) to ensure that the appearance is always implemented in the same way – keyword: recognition.

Corporate Design
Many large companies are based on founding personalities whose image has been directly transferred to the brand. With generational change and restructuring, these interrelationships have disappeared and the brands have been left to their own devices. In Europe, AEG is one of the first companies whose brand design has been consistently implemented and documented. The German artist, architect, and graphic designer Peter Behrens shaped the consistent appearance of the company and made it comprehensible for other users. This includes the derivation of the logo as well as its application and the implementation of all conceivable communication measures. This starts with business cards and stationery and does not end with black-and-white conversions for faxes and copies.

Style Guides
Corporate design is much more than “just” a logo. Ideally, it describes the entire brand world. This includes a formulated vision, mission, clearly defined values and customer benefit(s). This content should then be reflected in the corresponding image worlds, color definitions, and other specifications. Such guidelines – the “Style Guide” or “CD Manual” – should be communicated openly both internally and externally. This prevents users from implementing their own designs and undermining or diluting the long-term (and often expensive) brand identity.

Best Practice
We have collected some examples to show how consistently built and extended style guides look like and are even made publicly (digitally) accessible.

Audi – this style guide has a particularly comprehensive structure and really covers all areas of brand identity. Audi leaves nothing to chance in depicting the four rings, the cars, the descriptions and the presence in various media.

OMV – this very classic style guide soberly shows the correct use of a logo, font, colors, images, and all other design elements. For better orientation, incorrect applications are also presented, which are clearly crossed out in red.

Twitter – also this style guide is sober and short – and very clear and direct in an American way. Since Twitter is not only communicated as a logo but also as tweeted content, the style guide contains its own chapter on the correct presentation of tweets in other media.

SalzburgerLand – the logo of the tourism association is used by countless hotels and accommodation facilities, initiatives and other tourism companies. Accordingly, this style guide explains in detail the applications for every conceivable use.

Management issue
The occupation with the own Corporate Design is a good opportunity to examine the own (enterprise) appearance on stringency and consequence. Perhaps this analysis will lead to new insights into vision, mission, values and customer benefits. Maybe it’s time to rework (or have it reworked) and simplify your own appearance. Professional agency input can steer these developments in a regulated direction and clean implementation. In any case, final decisions are always a matter for the boss, i.e. a matter for the management and the management.

DeSight Studio GmbH | Wolfgang Zdimal

This article was written by Journalist and professional copywriter Wolfgang Zdimal on behalf of DeSight Studio GmbH and published by DeSight Studio GmbH. Wolfgang Zdimal, who manages his business from Vienna, Austria, has more than 20 years of professional experience and writes for the Austrian Federal Economic Chamber, BAWAG P.S.K. Bank or just for DeSight Studio GmbH.

No Comments

Post a Comment

Ich stimme ausdrücklich zu!

Make
eCommerce
Online Marketing
Mobile Apps
Awesome!
Copyright © 2015 - 2019 | DeSight Studio® GmbH
 

Corporate Design

Style Guides.
Stichwort: Wiedererkennung.

Die Entwicklung eines Corporate Designs ist eine der spannendsten Herausforderungen. Denn es geht darum, alles, wofür ein Unternehmen steht, in Form, Farbe und Worte zu gießen und in hochkonzentrierter Form zu kommunizieren. Gleichzeitig muss dieses kreative Konstrukt auch für anderen Anwender (externe Grafiker, Webdesigner, Agenturen, Redaktionen, Druckereien) transparent und nachvollziehbar aufbereitet werden, damit sichergestellt ist, dass das Erscheinungsbild stets gleich umgesetzt wird – Stichwort: Wiedererkennung.

Corporate Design
Viele große Unternehmen basieren auf Gründerpersönlichkeiten, deren Image unmittelbar auf die Marke übertragen wurde. Mit Generationenwechsel und Umstrukturierungen haben sich diese Zusammenhänge aufgelöst, die Marken waren auf sich alleine gestellt. In Europa gilt AEG als eines der ersten Unternehmen, dessen Markendesign konsequent umgesetzt und dokumentiert wurde. Der deutsche Künstler, Architekt und Grafikdesigner Peter Behrens hat das durchgängige Erscheinungsbild des Unternehmens geprägt und für andere Anwender nachvollziehbar aufbereitet. Dazu gehört einerseits die Herleitung des Logos, andererseits auch dessen Anwendung und die Umsetzung aller erdenklicher Kommunikationsmaßnahmen. Das fängt bei Visitenkarten und Briefpapier an und hört bei Schwarzweiß-Umwandlungen für Fax und Kopien noch lange nicht auf.

Corporate Design – spannend und schwierig zu gleich – denn speziell bei diesem Thema ist unglaubliches Fingerspitzengefühl und Erfahrung erforderlich. DeSight Studio blickt auf jahrelange Erfahrung im Bereich Corporate zurück.

Style Guides
Corporate Design ist weit mehr als „nur“ ein Logo. Im Optimalfall beschreibt es die gesamtheitliche Markenwelt. Dazu gehören eine ausformulierte Vision, Mission, klar definierte Werte und der/die Kundennutzen. Diese Inhalte sollten sich dann in den entsprechenden Bildwelten, Farbdefinitionen und anderen Vorgaben wiederfinden. Solche Vorgaben – der „Style Guide“, oder auch „CD-Manual“ – sollte sowohl nach innen als auch außen hin offen kommuniziert werden. Damit wird vermieden, dass sich Anwender mit eigenen Entwürfen verwirklichen und die langfristig (und oft teuer) aufgebaute Markenidentität untergraben oder verwässern.

Best Practice
Wir haben einige Beispiele zusammengetragen, um zu zeigen, wie konsequent auf- und ausgebaute Style Guides aussehen und sogar öffentlich (digital) zugänglich gemacht werden.

OMV – dieser sehr klassische Style Guide zeigt auf nüchterne Art die korrekten Anwendungen von Logo, Schrift, Farben, Bildern und allen weiteren Designelementen. Zur besseren Orientierung werden auch falsche Anwendungen präsentiert, die klar ersichtlich rot durchgestrichen werden.

Twitter – der Zwitscherdienst spricht in Sachen Corporate Design Klartext. Auch dieser Styleguide ist nüchtern und kurzgehalten – und auf amerikanische Art sehr klar und direkt formuliert. Da Twitter nicht nur als Logo, sondern auch als getwitterte Inhalte kommuniziert wird, enthält der Style Guide ein eigenes Kapitel zur korrekten Darstellung von Tweets in anderen Medien.

SalzburgerLand – das Logo des Tourismusverbands wird von unzähligen Hotels und Beherbergungsbetrieben, Initiativen und anderen touristischen Unternehmen genutzt. Dementsprechend ausführlich erklärt dieser Style Guide die Anwendungen für jede erdenkliche Nutzung.

Chefsache
Die Beschäftigung mit dem eigenen Corporate Design ist eine gute Gelegenheit, den eigenen (unternehmens-) Auftritt auf Stringenz und Konsequenz hin zu durchleuchten. Vielleicht ergeben sich aus dieser Analyse neue Erkenntnisse rund um Vision, Mission, Werte und Kundennutzen. Möglicherweise ist es an der Zeit, den eigenen Auftritt zu überarbeiten (oder überarbeiten zu lassen) und zu vereinfachen. Professioneller Agentur-Input kann diese Entwicklungen in geregelte Bahnen und saubere Umsetzungen lenken. Finale Entscheidungen sind jedenfalls immer Chefsache, also eine Angelegenheit für die Geschäftsführung und das Management.

DeSight Studio GmbH  |  Wolfgang Zdimal

Dieser Beitrag wurde vom Journalisten und Berufstexter Wolfgang Zdimal im Auftrag der DeSight Studio GmbH verfasst und durch die DeSight Studio GmbH veröffentlicht. Wolfgang Zdimal, welcher seine Geschäfte von Wien, Österreich aus steuert, weist mehr als 20 Jahre Berufserfahrung auf und schreibt unteranderem für die Wirtschaftskammer Österreich, die BAWAG P.S.K. Bank oder eben für die DeSight Studio GmbH.

Keine Kommentare

Kommentar schreiben

Ich stimme ausdrücklich zu!